Home > About > About Faculty of Commerce

About Faculty of Commerce

Department of Finance & Tax

The department is research led and has two very active graduate programs which are a Masters in Tax and a Masters in Finance.  The former has two streams being South African Tax and International Tax.  The latter has three different streams being Financial Management, Financial and Risk Management and Investment Management.   Supervision is provided to Ph.D. students across the areas of finance‚ tax and accounting.

Please visit for further information:


School of Economics

The School of Economics is one of the largest departments in the University of Cape Town, offering tuition to more than 3000 undergraduate students and approximately 150 postgraduate students. The School consists of over 30 staff members who cover a broad range of disciplines in economics in their teaching and research. In addition, the School has a strong research focus and hosts several active research units.

Please visit for further information: